Year in Review, Favorite Photo Each Month…Part 1

Here it is, December 31st, the last day of 2016.  No better time to look back at my favorite image for each of the months and a little more information behind the images. This post focuses on the first six months of the year. Tomorrow I will review my favorite images for the final 6 months and my overall favorite image of the year.

January:

I was in Germany for work and took advantage of some free time to do some shooting around the old city in Heidelberg.  As I walked out of my hotel, I heard a bicycle coming down the the cobblestone roadway. I positioned myself to frame the cyclist and hoped I had my camera ready to go because there wasn’t time enough to check. I waited for the rider to be center of the frame and captured the image. I was excited with how it turned out, made me think of the famous Henri Cartier-Bresson image of a similar subject.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

 

February:

My wife and I took a short trip to New Orleans in February and I was looking forward to doing some shooting in a city that never disappoints when it comes to photographic opportunities.  A good friend of mine and his son, an avid photographer his self, were to join me to shoot one morning. We were debating where we would meet to shoot. I had heard the forecast of fog for the morning, so I suggested shooting the oak trees in Audubon Park.  The trees are a true treasure of the park even though quite a few were lost because of the Katrina flood. The fog was heavy as the sun began to rise. We walked through the park shooting different trees and scenes. We made our across magazine street to shoot more when I saw a collection of trees and gas lights, one of them not lit adding to the image I felt.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

March:

One night in March, I went to downtown Nashville in order to capture some street photography images for an exhibit I was planning to submit to in the next few weeks. The theme was related to music and I thought what better than the activity around Lower Broadway in Music City! I walked up and down Broadway capturing images of bands playing in the “honky tonks” and the many revelers enjoying the music. I came across the scene I captured below of a street performer and a passerby who was dancing on the sidewalk. I love the emotion of the dancer and the street performer and I call the image “Moved by the Music”.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

 

April:

My wife and I were lucky enough to take a trip to Bali and Singapore in April. I had never been to either and was really looking forward to the trip. While in Singapore, I reconnected with a friend from college who is a photographer and college professor there. He was gracious enough to show us around the city/state, pointing out the unique neighborhoods. One of his favorite areas to shoot was Little India. On my last day in Singapore, I went out by myself to shoot one last time before returning home. I went back to Little India neighborhood where I found a great building painted in wonderful colors. I waited to have a good subject walking through the frame. While waiting, I helped a couple other tourists by taking photos of them in front of the building. After 15 minutes, I saw a man walking towards me and the building. I knew he would be perfect for the shot and I waited til he was positioned between the two windows. I was fortunate that he chose that exact moment to turn his head towards me adding to the final image.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

 

May:

For a few months this past year, I helped out leading the monthly group outings of our local photography club. In May, we went to Muscle Shoals, Alabama, a great city in Northern Alabama and home to a lot of great music recorded over the years. There is a very entertaining documentary titled Muscle Shoals about the two noteworthy studios and the artists that have recorded there.  Well, while driving back home with a friend of mine, we spotted a unique church just off the road as we entered a small town, St. Joseph. We turned around and shot around the church. We later found out the church, St. Joseph, is one of the oldest Catholic Churches in TN.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

 

June:

In an effort to capture some images to submit to exhibit focused on the rural South, I planned an overnight trip south along historic Hwy. 431 in Alabama from Huntsville to Dothan, and back again. The night before my trip, I had a bunch of work calls and didn’t get on the road to Huntsville until late. About midnight, right before crossing the Tennessee / Alabama line, I came across a produce stand that was all lit up. I had to stop and shoot it.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2016

10 thoughts on “Year in Review, Favorite Photo Each Month…Part 1

  1. Very nice images. I love the colorful building in Singapore. However, the outstanding one is the vegetable market on the Tennessee Alabama border. I’m so glad that you stopped.
    Happy New Years.

  2. Pingback: Year in Review, Favorite Photo Each Month…Part 2 | david morel photo - Nashville Fine Art Photography

Leave a Reply

