A Black (and white) Friday Hike…

Yesterday was Black Friday, the traditional chaos of bargain hunting by turkey filled shoppers as the Christmas shopping season begins in full force.  I had no intention of braving the malls, no I was going to #OptOutside and spend the day hiking and taking photos.

I decided to hike to Virgin Falls, a pretty tough 10 mile trek.  The weather report was for overcast skies all day which would be great for photography.  I left the house before 5am and pulled in to the parking lot just after sunrise. Grabbed my camera gear and set out on the trail.  I was disappointed that the clouds hadn’t really materialized and knew that the light would be pretty harsh once I got to the falls, but I pushed on hoping for the promised cloud cover.

It has been almost 10 years since I last did this hike and didn’t remember it that well.  I have been working on shooting moving water for the past few weeks and figured I
would have some good opportunities.  A mile into the hike, I found myself stopping every 100 yards or so to shoot.  I would see something I wanted to shoot, climb down the side of the hill, setup and shoot.  Then, back up the hill to get moving to the falls, only to see something else!  This went on for hours! 20151127_120340-01

I was halfway in and climbed back up to the trail when I realized at this rate, I wouldn’t make it to the falls anytime soon.  I debated just making a push on to the falls without stopping, but the harsh light that was currently everywhere made me re-think that.  It was then that I looked down at my hiking boots and noticed I had a major blowout on my right boot.  No way I would want to be 5 miles from the parking lot if the sole came completely off, so I decided to turn around and head home.

Even though I didn’t make it the falls, I was excited to see the images I had captured. I focused on the water moving over cascades and between rocks and boulders.  I used a neutral density filter to allow for long exposure times, some up to 3 minutes.  I shot close and at a distance.  I wanted to capture the feeling I felt while stepping across the river rocks and hearing the water rush beneath my feet.

Yes, I never shot the waterfall, but I am happy with the images I did bring home.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

 

Leave a Reply

