Post Storm Sunset on the Gulf…

I had to go to Florida for a meeting and since I am now shooting mirrorless, I felt it wouldn’t be a big deal to bring the camera/tripod and lens to try and capture a sunset on the Gulf.  My meeting was in St. Petersburg, but I drove up to Clearwater Beach to shoot Pier 60. It rained half the way there but I could see the storms were clearing quickly. I arrived to vibrant and active beach filled with families enjoying the last hour of light.

I setup my tripod to the north side of the pier hoping for the best angle on the sun as it traveled beneath the horizon. As I was shooting, I noticed a little girl kneeling in the water collecting shells. I asked her mother if she would mind me including her in the images I was taking.  She didn’t and I re-positioned to take advantage of her in the foreground.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

A little later, after the little girl left the surf, I re-positioned trying for a different feel.  I used a longer exposure to make the scene look more ethereal and liked the outcome, especially in Black and White.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

Let me know what you think? Do you like one more than the other? Why?

Thanks for stopping by…

Leave a Reply

