Stuck in the mud…

Last Sunday I set out early in the morning, hours before sunrise, to shoot more of my TN Small Town series. I was heading west to Eva and hoped to shoot others around the area. All the way along my drive I was in and out of heavy fog.  As I neared Eva, I came across the Harmon Creek Wildlife Management Area. I thought there might be some good photo opportunities given the heavy fog.  So, I made my way in and followed an increasingly suspect road deeper and deeper.  I drove for about a mile or two before the road came to a dead end.  I started to turn around and immediately knew I was stuck. The car began to slide to the right and deeper int he muck with each attempt to get out. I was not getting out on my own, I was miles from anywhere, and the sun wouldn’t be up for another 20-30 minutes.

What would you do?  Well, I am sure that answer will be different if you are a photographer or not. Me, I resigned myself to dealing with the stuck car AFTER I took a bunch of photos with the approaching sunrise and fog!  Below are some of my favorites.

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

The trip was definitely worth the hassle given I was able to capture these images!

What happened to the car?  Well, after shooting for a few hours and after all the fog had burned off, I called AAA.  The car was stuck pretty good, as you can see below, but nothing a tow truck couldn’t handle!

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

© ALL IMAGES COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. – DAVID L. MOREL ~ 2015

4 thoughts on “Stuck in the mud…

  1. I would have done one little thing differently….I’d have stayed stuck! What an awesome area and your photos are stunning! Your well thought out compositions are great….I can tell you thought and planned
    each one out.

Leave a Reply

