Simplify and Slow Down!

Yesterday, I wanted to go shoot and thought I might try something new. I decided I would challenge my self to “simplify and slow down” while shooting. I took just one lens, Nikkor 50mm 1.4, and to shoot in manual, both focus and metering. I also tried to only shoot one image of a subject, something i did about 80-85% of the time. To accomplish this, I had to really slow things down. Take my time with each subject to make sure I had the focus, the framing, and the exposure as I wanted it.  This style is completely contrary to how I think, act and normally shoot. I was pleased with how the shoot went but it wasn’t easy for me.  It was definitely a good lesson!

Here are some of my favorites, let me know what you think…

© All images copyright protected.  All Rights Reserved. – David L. Morel ~ 2014

3 thoughts on “Simplify and Slow Down!

  1. Enjoyed the post David. It’s always nice to slow down and take some time with each shot. When I make myself do this, I find the photos I produce have more impact, story, focus, and get closer to the subject. Thanks for posting this! Tom

  2. I love the textures in these images. I always take one lens with me. It is tempting to just shoot away in aperture priority but you don’t get the best shots that way, so I agree with what you’ve said in this post.

Leave a Reply

