Old Car City Shoot…Part 1

 

 

oldcarcitypano

 

This week, we say good-bye to my sister Shelley who passed away. She lived a full but short life. She leaves behind many friends and loving family.  She was older than me by 2 years but we were the youngest 2 of the four kids int he family. We did a lot together as kids and she was always a big supporter of me in everything I did.

I wasn’t able to attend the visitation for her on Saturday due to travel constraints. I had an urge to go out shooting as a creative vent for my feelings and emotions. I wanted to go to Old Car City in Georgia, a three hour drive. Weather reports the night before were not looking good. A friend recommended I not go, the place might not even be open.  I debated it the night before, but I set my alarm for 4:30am to make it there by opening time. When the alarm went off, the first thing I did was looked at the weather.  The rain prediction for the area was 90%.  The radar showed  blanket of storms from Nashville to Atlanta.  I decided to go anyway. Why?  Who knows, but I needed to go somewhere.

As I was driving through storms along the route, I considered detouring to Birmingham to go shoot.  The rain would be through there by time I got there and I could definitely find some places to shoot.  I did notice that it looked like the front was starting to split near my planned destination.  Was I interpreting the maps right or was I just trying to convince myself that staying my course was the right decision?  Doesn’t matter, I ignored the signs for Birmingham as I neared Chattanooga.  I was determined to make it to Old Car City and shoot.

I arrived a few minutes before 9 and the rain had cleared and no storms were approaching. I can only guess that I had someone looking out for me that morning!

As I was shooting, I came across a truck that had different colored panels. I was drawn to the lines and color differences and began to shoot it. When I looked into the view finder, I saw a cross, Shelley’s Cross.

Shelley's Cross

Shelley’s Cross

Here is part 1 of my images from that morning.  I hope you enjoy!

 

6 thoughts on “Old Car City Shoot…Part 1

  1. David,

    I have found that my camera gives me great solace. I didn’t realize you weren’t staying last night or I would have made more of an effort to speak with you before you left. Be kind to you and travel safely. Hope to see you soon!

    Dorma

    PS….love the old car shoot….I hope to make it there one day soon!

  2. I love all of these. And the cross is so terrific David 🙂 With all that is going on in this country today, it is good to see the cross celebrated, and honored. Prayers for you and your family. Blessings to you.

  3. Pingback: BPG Outing to Old Car City, PT. 1 – B&W | david morel photo - Nashville Fine Art Photography

Leave a Reply

