2012…A Good Year For My Art!

I am not the kind of person who often looks back on history. Usually, what has happened, has happened, and I am fine with that. I can’t change it, might wish it was different, but I don’t usually fret over it. Well, 2012, definitely warrants a review and it is all for good reasons!

I started 2012 with a determination to improve my photography as an art form. I wanted to grow as an artist and start producing more pieces that I could exhibit. The first opportunity that would help me in achieving this goal was to get accepted to a Portfolio Review with Ann Brown, owner of The Arts Company gallery, and the members of the Southlight Salon. The review was difficult to prepare for, identifying 20 pieces that represented my best work. Some of the critiques were hard to take, even though they were given to help me grow. The post review exhibit at the February Art Crawl was great to see the reactions of the public and I even sold the print below…

Bamboo Sky


After the Portfolio Review and Exhibit, I began to put into practice some of the feedback I had received. I took a few days vacation to go shooting in the Nevada deserts and California’s Death Valley. That trip provided me with a lot of great photo opportunities. I also began taking some advanced Photoshop Skills training with a new friend of mine, Nancy Johnson, Visual Expressions, which helped me add to my abilities in post processing my images.

In May, I attended a weekend workshop with world renown fine art photographer, Jack Spencer. The workshop was intense and very hands on with a focus on creating interesting images from the shot all the way through post processing and printing. Techniques and skills I learned with Nancy and Jack would help me make great strides with my art.

I submitted and was accepted for a few Brentwood Photography Group shows at Otter Creek Church and Scarritt Bennett. I also responded to a call for entries from Chromatics’ Upstairs Gallery. They were having an upcoming show with the theme, “Sweet Mysteries”. I had three images accepted for that show which is still open through the end of January. Below are the images from the Chromatics show:

Seven Trees
Shadow Walk
Two Palms

Early fall, I received a tip from a friend of mine, and fellow photographer, Eric Henderson, for a gallery in New York and their open call for an exhibit of images with a them of “Reflections”. We both submitted images and were accepted for the show. It opened in November, I had 5 images shown, and I sold one of my favorites I shot in the deserts of Nevada. It was great to visit New York and the exhibit at La Maison d’Art Gallery and see the images as presented in the exhibit.

Desert Wires

The success in New York led me to submit more images for exhibits across the country. I had two images accepted at the Gallery 1650, Los Angeles, for their “Flower Power” exhibit that continues through January 1oth, 2013. I also heard about two shows in 2013 where I will be showing images, one at the Black Box Gallery in Portland, OR and the other here in Nashville, at the Marnie Sheridan Gallery at Harpeth Hall.

I am very excited about 2013 and hope I can continue the growth and success with my art!

Leave a Reply

